Home > Songwriting > Is There Ever A Right Time To Write?

Is There Ever A Right Time To Write?

manuscriptI’ve questioned this for many years now, and I believe there is. You have to be in the right frame of mind to write. And the time of day plays a part in it. When is your optimal time to write?

I find that it’s either early in the morning Like 4-6 am if I’m sleepy. There’s something about being sleepy that puts me in the mood to write. Especially if I take something to help me sleep. It puts me in a highly creative state. That’s well and good, but the problem with that is beating the clock. At some point you can’t go on anymore.

For me, it’s around two hours when pills take their toll. I must stop then. But between that time, I can put out a lot of work for me to work on.

Another time for me is very late at night. Around 1 to 2 am.

There have been times when I’d try to force something when I wasn’t ready. And that has “ok” results, but when you’re in the right frame of mind, you can get a whole lot more done in less time as you would if your forced it.

Now, saying that, I know a bunch of people who can sit and write at any time and they can write something good most of the time. Sad to say, I’m not like that. Music has to “make it’s way to me” to be any good.

Do you have an optimum time when you write best?

Categories: Songwriting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

