Home > Personal > My First 10 Years Recording Part 2

My First 10 Years Recording Part 2

This post is a continuation of my last post. It ended up so big, I decided I’d have to make it two different posts.

There Are People You Can’t Work With

good-recordingThis is another thing I’ve had to learn many times until I got it. Now I’m not saying it’s just the people that you dislike and can’t work with. I have a very good friend. We’ve been friends for almost 20 years, and I can’t work with him at all.

I really like him. I think he’s super talented, but for some reason we don’t mesh well working together. At all. He knows this too. That’s why we’ve only done two sessions together.

Of course there are people for one reason or another that won’t like you. Maybe their first impression wasn’t good to them. Maybe they don’t like the particular way you do things. I used to take this pretty hard. As much as I’d like people to like me and actually want to work with me, it’s beyond my control. I’ve had to learn to except things like this and move on. If you take it any further, you’ll find it was a huge waste of time.

There are also other things I’ve found. There are artists that you mesh well with but for one reason or another, they don’t mesh with you. This is discouraging. There are times where I’ve felt a healthy vibe with some people and I’ve thought they felt the same way. But they didn’t. They didn’t think it was very worth while.

On the opposite side of the same coin, there are people that you don’t well with. That person feels the “vibe” and you don’t. I’ve had both happen to me. Fairly frequently, at least once a year.

Mic’s Work Better When They’re Used With Different Things

As I said, I started out with one large diaphragm condenser (we’ll I did have a few 57’s and 58’s), I recorded basically everything with that one mic. It wasn’t until I got my small diaphragm condensers that I started to hear a real shift in the quality of my recordings.

Now I’m not saying go out and buy them because they’re mandatory, they’re not. I’m just saying when you learn a few techniques with one mic, you open yourself up to some nice changes when you get more.

When I got those 2 small diaphragms, I’d overdub everything with them.

I’d put them around 8 feet away from my loud speakers and experiment with running my mix through the speakers recording the mix with the 2 small diaphragms xy. This created phase problems, I had no sense of phase in those days (see the “Not Every Mix You Get Excited About Will Last The Test Of Time” section of “My First 10 Years Recording Part 1” post).

I’ve found the best thing to do is experiment with anything you can think of. A lot of it will suck, but a lot of it will kick ass. The important thing is to figure out what you like.

As I’ve grown 10 years older, I’ve learned to except all these things. It actually goes with the territory. When I started out, that’s all I wanted to do. I didn’t want to sleep. I ran out of material to record alot but still wanted to work in my little studio. I’d end up making half assed crap to record just for the recording and mixing time.

Three years in to recording I opened a little studio. I say opened, but it really wasn’t open. I would record myself and other artists, but it wasn’t a business. I just wanted more space and get out of the house.

I’ve found it to be really nice to have a completely separate place to work from besides your home.

In the beginning it made things fresh and new. A new place to learn acoustically is challenging, but very cool. You have to record a lot just to be able to get used to the room. No problem there. I loved every second of it.

Things did start to get hard and eventually I was forced to move it back home. But now things are better, I’m still looking for potential places to set it up.

I don’t think I’d like commercial recording much. Having to even out a balance sheet isn’t my idea of fun, but I’ve made good money “under the table” recording people. It seems like that’s more fun. And besides, I don’t spend the money on myself, I never have. I always bought a new mic with it. Or plugins. Or so many other things.

When you’re passionate about what you do, that’s all that counts. And I look forward to spending 10 more years learning this thing. It’s really taken my writing to the next level. Many times actually.

To all those just starting. I just want to tell you, sometimes I wish I was you just so I could learn this stuff again. But then again I think I’ve got so much more to learn. And that would take all my time. Recording is awesome isn’t it?

Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

